# historydaymn Yearsigik



2013

The staff would like to say "thank you" to all participants, parents and teachers who made National History Day 2013 such a great year. It was our pleasure getting to know all of you and we hope you had as memorable of an experience as we did. You are all winners to us!



**INDEX** 

2-8
9-10
11-12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20-21



















































ing the second









































The junior division arrived in D.C. as a force to be reckoned with. The junior team represented the Cities and surrounding areas and made everyone proud. With 9 projects finishing in the top 14, including 3 bronze medals, our juniors made it known that Minnesota was in the house! Such an awesome (town) group of kids. Solid friendships were made as buttons made trade. Way to show 'em how it's done, juniors!

Mara Brick Elsa Cournoyer Ethan Davenport Olivia DiGiorno









Ruhi Doshi Simon Dungan-Seaver Seamus Flynn Grace Gardner









Sovigne Gardner Kirby Goodell Jennie Hebaus Bjorn Holm









Charlotte Hunsicker Meghana Iyer Grace Kellar-Long Eric Lagos









#### JUNIERS

Mari Leland Siena Leonne-Getten Anselma Lopez Soren Malm



Miranda Skinner Anais Stordahl Sarah Wheaton Anna Weiland









Caledonia Wilson Emily Zoborowski

















Bringing their expertise on topics such as the Interstate Highway Act, marsh preservation, Title IX and Rachel Carson, the 2013 senior division proved they weren't "too cool for school". Representing DeLaSalle, Mankato, Highland Senior, and South High to name a few, this crew took "Turning Points" to new heights. With 4 national finalists and 5 medals, and who could forget the elusive "Double Minny" first and second place in the senior group performance category, these guys sure left their mark on Washington. Congrats to all of our seniors! Antlers up!

Sarah Becker Lindsey Chambers Audrey Dombro Paul Esslinger

Maziere Flynn Laura Gale John Haley Holly Hankins



















Madeline Henschel **Bailey Hilgren** Luke Isensee Allegra Jonas









Kira Leadholm Kaitlynn Lindaman Kennedy Maker Frances Matejcek











Billy Menor Becky Norling-Ruggles Grace Palmer Maddie Pavek









Nicholas Pemberton Nick Reed Jessica Reinhart Kateri Schmidt









Maggie Schmidt Mary Traxler Kathleen Watson Sarah Westad









Carly Zimmerman









# SUPPORT SQUAD

History Day is challenging. Imagine trying to complete a project without the support from parents and teachers. From driving us to Hullabaloos to helping with glue, to proofreading scripts and editing video clips, parents and teachers deserve a high five, thumbs up, pat on the back thank you! Help your folks out with the dishes tonight, kids.



#### STAFF

Tim Hoogland Sarah Aschbrenner Katie Craven Rachel Hernandez









Jill Hengstler Kyle Parsons Sammi Jo Coryell Emily Klipp









Torrie White Megan Brownell













## DRAMA ELUB

The class of 2013's Drama Club performed a variety of crowd pleasers. From the Compromise of 1877 to rights for juveniles, the Pope to Ida Tarbell, our actors and actresses wowed crowds all week long. Anna Mulhern and her braids acted her way to 6th place for her performance on the U.S.-Dakota War, Grace Kellar-Long amazed the audience and judges with her harrowing tale of the Little Rock Nine which earned herself 3rd place. Cyber VIIIage Academy tackled "Red" topics such as the Estonian Singing Revolution by the all male cast group performance and Spartacus by the Gardner twins.





#### A-V ELUB

The future documentarians of Minnesota presented their knowledge on a wide variety of topics. From wetlands to the Dakota War, Ghandi to Title IX, our feature filmmakers impressed judges with their smooth transitions, special effects, knowledge of the Highway act, the Triangle Factory Fire and more. Taking home a bronze medal was Maddie Pavek from Rochester who taught us all a thing or two on the Mattachine Society while we learned about Silent Spring from Siena Leone-Getten. A wide range of topics and sources to amaze all audiences, indeed.



## SHIP CLASS

The power tool weilding 2013 Shop Class graduates glued, sawed and stapled their way to the top. A friendly rivalry grew amongst the two senior group Mankato boards only to have the girls rise to the top with a bronze medal for the board on the 1968 Democratic Convention. Veteran board maker Anselma Lopez taught us about a heart surgeon, Nick Reed and Kaitlyn Lindamann represented southern Minnesota with topics covering Morrill Hall and Rachel Carson respectively. Not to be left out, two projects from White Bear Lake (Go Bears!) showed judges what they knew about the CCC and Polio. The jet-setting trio from Wayzata West went back in the day and and schooled us on the Roman Empire. Our future museum architects sure made the Minnesota delegation proud!











# website squad

The 2013 Website Squad wins the award for most variety in topics. These HTML'ers taught us about subjects most know nothing about including Francois Vidoq and the Ambedkar Movement, while also taking chemotherapy, energy crisis and Stonewall to new hights. Perhaps the lesser known topic of Robert Smalls is what earned the L'Etoile du Nord boys 3rd place and the fact that Noah Rooze became a communist to get coveted interviews is what earned him 3rd place as well. We are proud of all of our page layout loving, font picky website gurus!





# young writers workshop

The talented young ladies of the Young Writers Workshop who took the old school approach to research impressed the Minnesota delegation with their beautifully written papers on the Triangle Fire, Cuban Missile Crisis, GI Bill and Watergate. These gals don't need fancy colors or transitions for their project, just pure prose on paper. Congrats to our national finalist authors, Sarah and Olivia!







# NATIONAL FINALISTS

Frances Matejcek, Grace Palmer Becky Norling-Ruggles Senior Group Documentary 5th Place

Anna Mulhern Junior Individual Performance 6th Place

Audrey Dombro Senior Individual Website 7th Place

Kathleen Watson, Maziere Flynn Senior Group Website 8th Place

Miranda Skinner, Eleanor O'Callaghan Junior Group Website 8th Place

Sarah Wheaton Junior Paper 8th Place

Simon Dungan-Seaver, Eli Sage-Martinson, Bjorn Holm Junior Group Documentary 8th Place

Bailey Hilgren, Luke Isensee Senior Group Documentary 11th Place

Olivia DiGiorno Junior Paper 11th Place

Sovigne Gardner, Grace Gardner Junior Group Performance 11th Place





















#### NATIONAL AWARD WINNERS



Carly Zimmerman, Kateri Schmidt, Maggie Schmidt Senior Group Performance 1st Place



Noah Rooze Junior Individual Website 3rd Place



Grace Kellar-Long Junior Individual Performance 3rd Place



Maddie Pavek Senior Individual Documentary 3rd Place



Monica Nelson, Billy Menor, Sarah Becker Senior Group Performance 2nd Place



Eric Lagos, Soren Malm Junior Group Website 3rd Place



Sarah Westad Senior Individual Performance 3rd Place



Lindsey Chambers, Holly Hankins, Mary Traxler Senior Group Exhibit 3rd Place

## AUTOGRAPHS

